ERROR: run nandroid-mobile.sh via console

Most G1/HTC Dream users would have rooted their phones to maximise the usage of the phone (and extend the lifecycle of the product). In so doing, they run many different ROMS; I use CyanogenMod. The ease and safety of changing ROMS (imagine the OS version for a typical desktop computer) is astounding especially with the use of recovery tools that allow one to make a full backup of the current ROM along with whatever extension drives that are in the SDcard (since it is based on Linux, Android ROMs utilises ext 2/3/4).

I was using Amon Ra recovery tool, an excellent tool for recovery. But sometimes in performing a full Nandroid Backup, you may come up with this error: “run nandroid-mobile.sh via console”. In such instances, don’t worry… just connect your device to your computer and perform an ADB connection.

From your desktop console (windows environment I presume), type:

adb remount
adb shell mkdir /system/sd

Voila. Perform your nandroid backup again and it should work. Basically, the error occurs because there is a missing /sd folder in your /system folder.

Works every single time. Enjoy and happy flashing ROMs!

10 thoughts on “ERROR: run nandroid-mobile.sh via console

  1. Actually it didn’t work for me. I’m running fastboot from recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.7.0H and get that annoying message too when I try to run Nandroid.

    I do get what seem to be a complete backup in a nandroid dir on my card but I don’t know if I can trust that.

    • Ah, it is a fix for non-fastboot πŸ™‚ Run via recovery, then ADB. I am actually reposting what others have posted on XDA.

      Usually the error occurs midway the backup for ext.

  2. Pingback: Android 2.1

  3. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    I’ve been fighting this for a week and almost going insane. Took 10 seconds to apply your fix using RootBrowser. One reboot later and I’m a happy Nandroid+ext backed-up camper.

    Why couldn’t the author have an error message that actually -told- us what was wrong?

Leave a Reply

