Nexus One (Updated: With Physical Keyboard Coming!)

The price is for RM1,800. The specifications for the US version of this phone can be read from http://www.google.com/phone/static/en_US-nexusone_tech_specs.html

My comments:

I think it is a great phone to begin with… unfortunately, for my personal usage, I would prefer a physical keyboard. Yes, the Droid has one but based on performance, it is quite obvious that the Qualcomm Snapdragon beats Arm Cortex A8 chips by some margin. I am making this comment disregarding the lack of multitouch on the stock ROM, knowing that it would definitely be fixed by one of the XDA modders around πŸ™‚ What I am more concerned with is the hardware limitations of not having a physical keyboard; poor emulation for games and the ability to see a bigger amount of the screen without my fingers obscuring it!

The design is gorgeous though. Typical HTC… but I really hope that they will update the G1 into something that is much stronger on the processor front. The G1 has been perfect for me (except for the nagging problem with the contact names, where there is no option to sort through first name and last name). I think it only needs Snapdragon, proximity sensors and a higher resolution screen. That’s it.

I am sure in 1 or 2 years time, this would be achieved. Then I will follow my rules of waiting for another 0.5 to 1 year to buy a good 2nd hand version of it πŸ˜› hahaha.

Updated (9/10/2010):

Wonderful news… there is a high possibility that an enterprise version of Nexus One would be released, ala HTC Touch Pro series would include a physical keyboard and bigger battery. This would be terrific. The physical keyboard is very important for those who really dislike on screen keyboards (Yes, I am one of those in the minority who dislike typing against a glass screen! I really prefer ANY physical key presses). Check out that observation made atΒ http://gizmodo.com/5444173/nexus-one-enterprise-version-could-have-a-physical-keyboard-bigger-battery

2 thoughts on “Nexus One (Updated: With Physical Keyboard Coming!)

  1. im not a techno geek myself and no disrespect to those who are really into techy stuff. Maybe im rather disappointed i dint ‘really’ root my G1..

    Haha.. but the nexus 1 looks real good and without the physical keyboard as you have mentioned. i find the G1 is fine but its heavy, processor-wise not upgraded.

    maybe one of these days i retry rooting it again and flashing it?? LOL..

  2. Just: Well… go root it πŸ˜› hahaha… it’s time to do so… because Singtel doesnt seem to be supporting the HTC Dream anymore. The Nexus 1 looks good but really… it should have been better. At the moment, I am waiting for a good physical keyboard phone. But I have a year more to go… hahahaha… my phone is standing the test of time πŸ™‚

    There is a thread in XDA where they are finding ways to overclock the processor.

Leave a Reply

