JF Calling it Quits on ROM Making

JF

Sad news indeed:

I’ve decided to call it quits on the whole rom making thing. As I’m sure you’ve noticed, I haven’t done much work on the rom lately anyway, not to mention the way overdue CRC1 rom that I never got out. I’ll still be around of course, working on smali and hanging out on freenode. But I just don’t have enough interest in doing rom work anymore to continue.

You can read the whole post here: http://jf.andblogs.net/2009/08/20/calling-it-quits/

He is right; the ROM has not have an update in a long time since 1.5.1 was released. Cyanogen has been constantly updating his ROM but I wonder how long will he last too? ROM making takes a lot of passion to do. My overall review of JF’s 1.5.1 is this: very good and stable. I had no problem with navigating through my applications. The occasional force closes were not the ROM’s fault but more of the over-clocking application “SetCPU” which I installed (I suspect). However, I have just installed Cyanogen’s ROM version 4.0.1 yesterday and it has been quite good except that it takes up more RAM space than JF’s. But this is expected since Cyanogen incorporates some elements from the Donut development branch.

Well, so long JF. It has been nice using your ROM. I had no idea that he was going to quit right the day after I install Cyanogen’s ROM… maybe it is just my intuition 🙂 Anyway, here’s to better cooked-ROMs that will extend HTC Dream’s usability to the end of next year!

Leave a Reply

