Upgrading O2 XDA Stealth to Windows Mobile 6.5 ROM

GSM 900 / 1800 / 1900
Announced: 2006, September
Available
Dimensions 110 x 53 x 22.5 mm
Weight 140 g
Type TFT resistive touchscreen, 65K colors
Size 240 x 320 pixels, 2.4 inches
– Handwriting recognition
Alert types Vibration; Downloadable polyphonic, MP3 ringtones
Speakerphone Yes
Phonebook Practically unlimited entries and fields, Photocall
Call records Practically unlimited
Internal 64 MB RAM, 192 MB ROM
Card slot miniSD
GPRS Class 10 (4+1/3+2 slots), 32 – 48 kbps
HSCSD No
EDGE No
3G No
WLAN Wi-Fi 802.11b/g
Bluetooth Yes, v1.2
Infrared port Yes
USB Yes, miniUSB
Primary 2 MP, 1600×1200 pixels, autofocus, LED flash
Video Yes
Secondary No
OS Microsoft Windows Mobile 5.0 PocketPC
CPU Intel XScale PXA 272 416 MHz processor
Messaging SMS, MMS, Email, Instant Messaging
Browser WAP 2.0/xHTML, HTML (PocketIE)
Radio No
Games Yes
Colors Silver
GPS No
Java Yes, MIDP 2.0
– Pocket Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, PDF viewer)
– MP3/AAC/AAC+/WMA/OGG/AMR player
– WMV/MP4 player
– T9
– Voice dial
Standard battery, Li-Po 1300 mAh
Stand-by Up to 150 h
Talk time Up to 4 h 30 min

From GSMarena here

I bought this phone last year in May 2008. It was already out at the end of 2006. Now, I have no gripes with this phone except that it is now a dinosaur compared to the other newer phones out there. One thing it still beats is the presence of infrared on it. There is nothing much you can do about the hardware on this device (really, there’s none). But software is a whole other question πŸ™‚

Anyway, if you really feel like putting some life into it, I would recommend that you upgrade the ROM (operating system) from Windows Mobile 5 to Windows Mobile 6.5. You can get more information from: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=516595 – it contains the latest ROM version (it is the 21725wwe version,Β updated as of 28th May). Bugs and all can be forwarded to the ‘cook’: slimshadyliran@gmail.com who really has a lot of time on his hands (to which the community of XDA Stealth users are grateful for).

It is easy to upgrade. But remember, you will lose all information from your main ROM (mobile hard disk space).

Simple Tutorial on How to Flash the Thing:

I would encourage you to make a backup of your contacts into your SIM card before proceeding. It will wipe everything out!

  • Unrar the package
  • Copy gbcall.nb0 to the root folder of your storage card (MiniSD)
  • Turn off the phone
  • Hold the Green button and Red buttons (‘Call’ and ‘End’) while pressing the power button (to switch the device on)
  • Wait for the screen to show ” Search Image” – Found “file name”… etc.
  • It will detect the ROM file and after about 10 minutes the phone will reboot
  • Copy the net3.5 folder to “storage card\program files\” on your storage card

Hmmm… apparently it supports SDHC (Secure Digital High Capacity aka SD 2.0). That means you can bump the storage to above 4GB which was the limit previously. Interesting. Maybe I should have kept my Stealth (if only the receiver was not buzzing!).

UPDATED 29/3/2010

Clearer instructions are as follows (thank you Sundaram for the link):

Step by step upgrading :
Warning :Β Backup your phone data (phonebook,files or picture on device before proceed)
1.Make sure it’s charged fully or you can put on charger while install this rom
2.Download this file and extract to your PC and copy those file to your device storage card via activesync or card reader
3.Copy GBCALL.NB0 to \Storage Card\
4.Copy NET3.5 folder ro \Storage Card\Program Files\
5.Turn off your Stealth
6.Push both YES button and End button (Green phone and Red Phone button) and power button (on top of phone)
7.If success it will search image on storage card and start flashing and formatting
8.Wait about 5-10 minutes until finish
9.Process ended by device reboot
10.If upgrading success you will see Windows Mobile welcome screen
11.Setup your device and you’re done

wm1 wm2 wm3 wm5 wm6

These are of course unofficial releases since the original manufacturers are not supporting the device anymore. Trust the developers at XDA-Developers.com to continue on with the upgrading process. If you have any PDA which you think is a bit too old for your liking, just browse at http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=259

xda

Update 12/08/2010:

I have not updated this post and always have thought that it would go obsolete by itself… unfortunately, many people continue to read this particular post. Let me update you with my current thoughts on this: it is NOT worth upgrading to WM6.5 because the ROM that is linked has not been updated for more than a year. There are certainly work done to support WM6.5 for O2 Stealth, but it is not from the general community but a niche community in China. Unless you speak Mandarin (Chinese), you will find that the ROM above will be frustrating to use and too much of a resource hog. It has not been optimised and is bound to break many things (driver incompatibility being one). All attempts to try to translate the Chinese ROMs have failed. Besides, the device is too old to hold any interest in people anymore. It is 4 years old, and in mobile phone industry, that is ‘ancient’.

I would recommend you (who are considering upgrading) to stick with WM5 or WM6.1 which was more stable than 6.5. Or better yet, go get an Android phone that allows for so much tweaking and hacking, if you are into it. This is my best advice on the matter, unless you would want to code everything yourself and cook something up for this device; it will be of no use.

77 thoughts on “Upgrading O2 XDA Stealth to Windows Mobile 6.5 ROM

  1. hw can i thank to you dear u make my dinasor look like jaguar excelent i also bought that set i last year and also dnt want to change it now bundle of thnx thnx thnx thnx

  2. Why don’t you use Resco’s excellent Keyboard? It is much better to use that than other input methods (in my opinion).

    If you really, really have to use Ezitext, then post that to slimli, at the link provided in my article πŸ™‚ All the best!

  3. Tks, Resco its still not really fine. Old keyboard its still the best.
    But do you have a site to download latest WM 6.5, not a 21275 ??

  4. Hi, just want to ask a question about my problem after flashing my stealth’s winmo5 to winmo6.5 and successfuly flashed it. But i noticed one thing. Whenever i Turn of my phone, and it ask for my PIN code for my SIM, below the ” Enter your PIN code:” is a White blank screen. But if your going to press on the blank screen, it will still put some asterisk on it. But its realy hard to guess if you can’t see what number your entering, mostly its a PIN for your SIM card. can anyone point me to the right way please..
    And in order for me to type in my PIN code, i just use my keypad and guess where the OK button on the screen is..

    kindly help me out here please.. Thank you and more power..

    Macjemzie

  5. and by the way, i can’t access my SIM as well. cant find my sim card icon on windows mobile 6.5.. where can i find the SIM icon so i can import my Contacts that are stored in my sim.. thnx again.. hope to hear from you guys..

  6. Hi Macjemzie:

    I have no idea concerning the first question on entering PIN for your SIM since I do not have that setting switched on. However, for the second question concerning importing contacts, I would recommend you to use http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=487920
    Dopod SIM manager. It works for my phone πŸ™‚

    My Advice is to get SPB Mobile Shell 3.0 on top of your 6.5. It is much more user friendly. Cheers.

  7. hmm. someone told me that i should download winmo6.5 patch for SIM and my PIN and also to download the Multitap patch for us Stealth users to use the keypads for testing.. the Only problem is, i really dont know where to find and look for.. i know xda-developers but is there any some compilation for the xda stealth ROMS and patches?

    Anyway, thnx erlern for answering my 2nd question. Its a big help since i really can’t import my contacts from sim to phone.. πŸ™‚

  8. btw, im really sorry abou this question, what do you mean by
    “My Advice is to get SPB Mobile Shell 3.0 on top of your 6.5. It is much more user friendly.”

    do you know where to get the Mobile Shell 3.0? and how am i suppose to put it on top of my 6.5?

    thank you..

  9. wow, i finaly got it erlern.. the mobile shell 3 is really a nice cool add-on for your 6.5.. I got the chance to see all my cntacts on my SIM card network.. Really great features and very user friendly..
    But can i ask if which is the best:
    TouchFlo 2d manila or this Mobile Shell 3.0?

    Can you give me some link on where can i donwload some touchflo manila 2d for stealth? because i downloaded some few nights ago, but seams like i cant activate it and its always saying ‘Unable to use Touchflo’…

    Thnank you for your advance help & more power.

    Mac

  10. Okay, you can download it from the site itself: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=541750 . However, if the main file cannot work (for the 6.5), try downloading the patched one for 6.1, which worked for me.

    Remember that you might have to uninstall SPB Mobile Shell because Touch FLO2D is a skin for the WM today screen and wont appear if SPB is your default screen.

    Anyway, I have no idea… I think SPB is quite cool to look at, but Touch FLO is certainly very responsive to touch. I like the fact that Touch FLO is quite simplistic yet with some elegance, whereas SPB is quite ‘cold’ at the edges, if you get my drift. Btw, download all the additional programs for Touch FLO from the link I gave if you want it working perfectly. Enjoy!

  11. thank you so much for a very fast reply.. can’t wait to try it asap..
    Btw, i encountered another problem in wm6.5 when calling and whenever im going to use the Speaker Phone it always turns to black blank screen and it doesn’t pump-up the volume on the speaker in other word ‘nothing happens’.. is there any patch again for this particular problem? Thank you again..

  12. 2nd question: i read it somewhere that they can use the keypads of the stealth for texting?
    how did they do it? any ideas erlern? hoping you’ve solve this problem.. πŸ™‚

    Thank you in advance..

  13. Hi, Erlern I tried the upgrade of WM 6.5 on my phone but i lost the wifi manager. It only shows the wifi utility off, and the network cards but the switch for the WiFi on wireless manager was missing. I’m trying to look for any fix. Any idea? thanks.

  14. 3rd question: and i notice that my clock is adjusting it self automatically.. for example my time now is 6:30pm later on after a minute or so, i noticed that my clocks time is 10pm and it adjusted its day as well… hmmm.. can seem to see some patches..
    kindly help me out here pls..
    thnx..

  15. solve my problem no. 2. I just installed a Diamond Keypad for me to use it.. and some prog to keymap my keys in keypads.. my problem now is still the speakerphone, and the sim icon to access your SIM card is still missing..

    thnx guys.. hoping someone can help me out..

  16. Macjemzie: Hmmm…. I have not encountered any problem with the clock display. But then, I am using SPB Mobile Shell. Sorry, but I think I am quite limited in helping you on this coz I’m not using my Stealth as my primary phone anymore. I dropped it once and the sound has a slight ‘buzzing’ noise that gets louder at times. I’m using HTC Dream now πŸ™‚

    But I tried contacting the cook of the ROM. So far, no reply from him. He is from China I think FYI, so too bad I cannot read the chinese website which he posts the latest ROMS for Stealth.

  17. thank you erlern.. just thought of disposing it already.. πŸ™‚ now im quite comfortable using my atom life. The OS now is quite stable unlike my experiece with stealth… Maybe its too old, thats why im having a hard time finding the right apps and roms for it.. πŸ™‚

    Thank you again for your help..

  18. thanks..that encourage me to upgarede my o2 stealth to wm6.5 .. πŸ˜€

    What about anything else? there is some error after you upgrade your o2 stealth to wm6.5?

    I am sorry..i need to confirm that becouse this is my first time for me to use windows mobile and alse flashing of course..

  19. haha..thanks a lot..i have upgrade my o2 stealth..and looks good..nice interface..wifi still working and the other else..
    But i found that the eZytext has removed from input..and also the hand recognition..
    Do you experienced the same thing?
    Maybe you have some advice for me to fix this..

    thanks before..

    • Hi Jay, unfortunately all WM6.5 developments are handled by the Chinese cooks at http://g3top.com/ and thus are not in English. By the way, 6.5.1 are not legal to be ported (since Microsoft recently yanked the codes off XDA forums). If you can understand Chinese, then go to g3top to download the latest. If not… then you have to pray with me that someone will be nice enough to translate one over. πŸ™‚

      • Hi Erlern,

        Thanks for your Information, I think I must have to join you in prayer, even I dont understand Chinese.

  20. Hi,

    i followed all instrucations specified by your but as you mentioned in the instrucation serach file is not comming at all i tried many time , please help me.

  21. I have succesfully installed the WM 6.5 for my stealth. All features are work great…but there is a little minor cons, that is I can not import my address books in SIM card to memory phones?…Does anybody can help me out?…thx in advance

  22. Hi, I managed to upgrade successfully but i have a problem with the HW Keyboard. It will only type numbers and not letters even of i change the input type using the *abc/123 key. Any Ideas?

  23. Hi Erlern:) My Xda Stealth was upgraded to um6.5 and working nicely. Recently it was discharged completely and not getting booted. Kindly advise me how to get this bring back to life.. thanks

  24. Mas pagi nih saya ada masalah O2 stealth saya awalnya dipakai wifi battry habis/drop blank, saya charger tetap blank saya soft reset hasilnya nol akuberanikan hardreset hasilnya sekarang bila dihidupkan running mode camera dalam kondisi boot under windows(dos) bagaimana ya solusinya ada yang bisa bantu……..

    • mas basanya kalo saya pas abis batre kadang ada program yg g bisa dibuka. cm biasanya hard reset lagi. coba aja yang penting battrefull. tekan tombol menu,tombol ok dan tombol power bersamaan beberapa saat.

      • Thanks Erlern. As I indicated you updated the instructions too I am glad.
        As already someone mentioned recently I got some problem like the screen goes blank and never get back with any key/button press. Did some one had a chance to get some patch please post it here.

        FYI:
        Try use Google Chrome browser – it integrates the translation module in it so it will translate any language to English. (Chines – English also possible)

        Thanks in advance.
        Sundaram

      • Hi,
        I solved the issue by myself. The problem is SPBShell. I uninstalled the shell and try to use the regular Shell it is working fine now.

        Thanks,
        Sundaram

  25. hi! i have a question about this upgrade… see i have NEVER tried flashing or upgrading my stealth mainly because i was afraid that it would “brick” or worse… do i have to install anything else before doing this upgrade? or can i just do it as is?

    i really wanna do this upgrade..

  26. thank you very very much erlern!!! i’m done with the upgrade and so far so good… will you be keeping this post updated with other developments for the stealth?

    • You are welcome. However, I have to admit that Stealth is really an old phone in the mobile world, and people have moved on away from developing for it. The only people who still develop for it are the Chinese (from China) and frankly, since I cannot read/speak Chinese (mandarin) I cannot post anything useful. If there are any help needed on ‘keyboard inputs’ etc., you can peruse through the comments in this post. I am sure someone has asked before and answers given πŸ™‚ All the best.

      • Dear erlern,

        Is there any new rom is available for o2 xda stealth i.e I am serching for 6.5.1 or more?

        Regards
        Jayesh

  27. why i can’t use my mms. how to use mms at windows mobile 6.5. btw thanks, ihave upgrade to wm 6.5 thats so cool. i like it

  28. hey erlern….im new on ur post….i read all the past posts n downloaded the WM 6.5 for my stealth…..but nw m facing some problem here……u have given the link to patch wifi if the the Wifi is not shown on ur device…..but my prob is how to install that patch….i copied it into my device but there’s isnt any program to run it…!!

    ….and the my second prob is that i wanted to have touch flo manila 2d in my stealth…so i downloaded from the link u provided in one of ur post….but non of them worked…..after finishing installing it, it says “tap here to launch touch flo” n wen i tap it, it says “launching touching flo….” and after that nothin appears, beside same “tap here to launch touch flo” appears….wats goin on erlern….plz help me…!! thank u!!

    • Hi Nams,

      Let me be honest with you, upgrading Stealth beyond WM6.1 is practically useless for now because there are no developers anymore working on it, at least any English developers. If you are Chinese speaking, then you can find better supported ROMs to be used. Please do not use the ROM above and expecting support, because frankly, there is none, which is why I returned back to WM5. Besides, O2’s Stealth is really outdated and not worth using unless you are into development. Touch Flo will not work nicely plus it will eat up your little memory that is already so taxed. Hope this will help you to reconsider your options. Move on, I would recommend Android phones as a good replacement πŸ™‚ All the best!

  29. Pingback: 2010 in review « A World of Thoughts

Leave a Reply

