Bullet Point Thoughts

  • Rapid fire thoughts for the few months since I last voiced (written) them:
  • Physical exercise must go hand-in-hand with spiritual exercise. Although when pushed, the latter is the most essential exercise that we must have daily. In fact, it is the latter that pushes us to do the former, in its proper measure. Obesity is the extreme of what happens if we indulge excessively on the worldly delights for the sake of our temporal belly aching 🙂 Very much a note for myself. So there!
  • Internet is important, but it can really be counter-productive. 
  • Internet is important, it is a good leverage for many things. 
  • I have noticed that ‘attention seeking’ deficiency is prevalent in everyone in varying degrees. It can be found in even quiet, staying in the background person which you may least expect. It is a condition that feeds of the thing we call ego although I wouldn’t dare call it for what it is in front of the person. It doesn’t do much damage to the people surrounding the person, but more to the person by increasing self-consciousness and paranoia. It is a vicious cycle for those who have a deep degree of these type of behaviour. It can easily push a person to go into the ‘Oh, pity me’ scenario (self-pity) which is bad spiritually, because it shifts the focus again to self. 
  • I use my phone to check my Gmail account (GPRS connection, no EDGE, since it is an O2 XDA Stealth). I have been able to transform the phone to a blackberry type service (with a 7 minutes lag time) for free. But found that it is a hassle to constantly hear new e-mail alerts on my phone when I’m trying to get sleep at 2am. 😛
  • Paedobaptism is a very unique creature which the Reformed forefathers have adopted into their theology. I can see where it grew out from, but cannot see the rationale for its creation. 
  • I have come to appreciate even more the doctrines of Grace as espoused by TULIP and by John Calvin under the system called Calvinism. I have no problem identifying myself to such a system for the bible is clear on making our stand clear for the sake of differentiating ourselves from those who hold other positions. There are minimum standards which we must keep as evangelicals, but identification is always important to preserve the purity of God’s Doctrines. 
  • I find that those who espouse no ‘clear identification’ actually do so themselves. See the “Local Church” and “Brethren” Movement. 
  • Evangelism is utmost important in the life of the Reformed believer. He can do nothing else except to evangelise, if he understands the doctrines of Grace. He is compeled by a force that is more powerful than anything else in this world; thus, his effort will not be in vain. It is a comfort. 
  • My phone has a location triangulation mechanism courtesy of Google Maps. 
  • iPhone is overpriced in Malaysia. 
  • iPhone 3.0 is coming. 
  • There you have it. Bullet points of the past 2 months. Or so. 
  • Adios… till my streamyx comes back or until we go to another Starbucks tomorrow. 🙂 
Leave a Reply

