Batman, The Dark Knight Killed by Darkseid in Final Crisis #6

untitled-35

The last page of Final Crisis #6. The aftermath of a showdown between Darkseid and the Dark Knight. I have to say that the whole series has been extremely confusing. I really tried giving some effort and showing some tolerance for what Morisson and folks were trying to do with the DC universe. But in the end, I cannot be bothered. It assumes way too much knowledge and background information. People like me (casual DC readers) are lost in transition. 

The art is good. I love Carlos’ work (as always). 

The ending for this issue was done well… Superman being ’emo’ over his best friend’s death. He was preoccupied elsewhere (as usual). 

Anyway, my speculation is that NightWing (aka Dick Grayson) would take up the mantle of the bat. I really dislike Damien (Bruce Wayne’s supposed son). 

For great sagas, give me Marvel anytime. At least it is coherent and structured. This Final Crisis (actually all the crisis except the one that started them all, ‘Identity Crisis’, was confusing.

7 thoughts on “Batman, The Dark Knight Killed by Darkseid in Final Crisis #6

  1. I have to admit, I am not about to dip into a Wikipedia-style research engine to “get” much of Morrison’s work, however the guy can make the most banal things in this continuity look fun and over-the-top. I have enjoyed FC a lot more than the poorly landscaped George Perez-carried s*itfest “Infinite Crisis” and the Women-In-Refrigerator-esque peice of character assasination “Identity Crisis”. D.C finally get it right, paying tribute to the best elements of their vast, overly complicated cosmic mythology. Superman feels like SUPERMAN again, Captain Marvel feels like CAPTAIN MARVEL again. MY D.C is back, and all because they HAVE returned to being overly complicted “be a fan or DIE”.

    It’s confusing even to me, but in a fun way

    And I love that Tawkin Toney, the tiger from the Shazam comics and a much undervalued side-character, got a major focus in this issue, that was the highlight besides Batman “dying” (for those that have read “Seven Soldiers”, you know what the entrophy sanction really does), so all is forgiven.

    And…I’m sorry…MARVEL IS STRUCTURED? DON’T MAKE ME LAUGH. All that company does now is say “VILLAINS ARE AWESOME, HEROES ARE DUMB, NO EVENT HAS AN ENDING, IT’S JUST AN ADVERTISMENT FOR THE NEXT EVENT”. Marvel is for dummies these days.

  2. “MARVEL IS STRUCTURED? DON’T MAKE ME LAUGH. All that company does now is say “VILLAINS ARE AWESOME, HEROES ARE DUMB, NO EVENT HAS AN ENDING, IT’S JUST AN ADVERTISMENT FOR THE NEXT EVENT”. Marvel is for dummies these days.”

    Well, the fact that you can articulate back what Marvel has done proves that it is structured. Just because we haven’t seen the ending (real finale, just like DC’s Crisis) doesn’t mean there isn’t one.

    Seems DC is for arrogant & overly emotional comic lovers (going by your reply). But I am sure you’re just one of a kind.

  3. I am so utterly confused by Final Crisis. I’ve never read much DC stuff but this huge event was out about the same time as Secret Invasion so I thought I’d give it a chance. And I’ve barely understood anything – sure, it’s easy to understand what happens in each panel and in relation to the other panels in the one comic, but when it comes to the overall storyline its a complete and utter mind f***. Marvel is much better for being able to read the main series on its own and that be enough, but it seems to me that you need to read almost every tie-in to FC in order to barely get a grip on understanding it. I’ll read FC #7 in the hopes that it will be good (because the main comics themselves have been a good quality, even though I’m not a huge fan of DC) and that it will tie up all the loose ends. For me 🙂

  4. Ewan: my sentiments exactly. We try to love what DC is coming out with. But, it is really confusing. I guess that’s why Marvel is more appealing to the masses, it does away with the need to plunge into every tie-in. I didn’t read every tie-in for Civil War and World War Hulk and still know what happened. 🙂

Leave a Reply

