Shopping List

I wanna go shopping! πŸ™‚ Online shopping that is. It’s the year-end sales and the holiday spirit of spending (I guess!). Here’s the lowdown on the process (for this post):

1) List down things I wish to get (in order of priority)

2) Total the figure

3) Get the money (Save or sell other stuff)

4) Purchase them

Β 

**** UPDATED as time permits ****

Β 

1) The List

HARDBACK GENEVA BIBLE (1599 EDITION)

PRICE: $37.17

geneva

THE REFORMATION STUDY BIBLE (ESV) (2ND EDITION W/ MAPS)

PRICE: $25.99

reformationstudy2-021

CALVIN’S COMMENTARIES, 22 VOLUMES

PRICE: $179.99

calvin

NEW TESTAMENT COMMENTARY (12 VOLUME SET) WILLIAM HENDRIKSEN & SIMON J. KISTEMAKER

PRICE: $129.95

hendriksen

THE LIFE AND THEOLOGY OF JONATHAN EDWARDS (5 DVD SET)

PRICE: $30.00

jonedwards1

RESOURCES FOR CHANGING LIVES BUNDLE (21 BOOKLETS) CHRISTIAN COUNSELING & EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION (CCEF)

PRICE: $63.68

ccef

EXPELLED: NO INTELLIGENCE ALLOWED (DVD) STARRING BEN STEIN

PRICE: $17.99

expelled

POCKET PURITANS SERIES (4 VOLUME BUNDLE) BANNER OF TRUTH

PRICE: $16.80

pocketpuritan

MEET THE PURITANS byΒ JOEL R. BEEKE AND RANDALL J. PEDERSON

PRICE: $22.50

meetpuritans

REFORMED DOGMATICS (4 VOLUME SET) HERMAN BAVINCK

PRICE: $116.99

reformeddogmatics

MY HEART FOR THY CAUSE: ALBERT N. MARTIN’S THEOLOGY OF PREACHING

PRICE: $13.99

almartin

2) Total Damage

Prices include discounts given. Taken fromΒ www.monergismbooks.comΒ 

In USD: $ 655.05

In RM (using rate of 3.6): RM 2,358.18Β 

Not including Shipping

Β 

Wow. πŸ™‚ Hahahahahaha… ML will flip out!

9 thoughts on “Shopping List

  1. Hmmm… good question… I have no idea… it was a toss up between the two… since the Ref Study Bible is in their 2nd version, I figured whatever problems they have would have been ironed out, compared to version 1 of ESV Study bible.

    I assume that the former would be closer to what I look for in a Study bible; amillenialist, cessasionist, calvinistic & monergistic. If you (or anyone) knows any that fits those 4 criteria, holler, and I’ll change my shopping list! πŸ™‚

  2. I own a copy of the Reformation Study Bible but haven’t yet assessed it based on those four things (I bought it when I was looking for a study Bible that was written from a Reformed viewpoint, back when the ESV Study Bible wasn’t available yet).

    I could help you look those four things up if you would like.. might take me a while though πŸ™‚

    I do know what it says about baptism because I looked it up before.. here it is (p. 1623): “No prescription of a particular mode of baptism can be found in the New Testament. The command to baptize may be fulfilled by immersion, dipping, or sprinkling: all three modes satisfy the meaning of the Greek verb baptizo and the symbolic requirement of passing under, and emerging from, cleansing water.”

    I guess one way to assess it is the Reformation Study Bible is Sproul’s Bible, while the ESV* is Grudem/Packer’s.. so depends on who you agree with more I guess πŸ˜‰

    * http://www.esvstudybible.org/#contributors

  3. Yea, thanks a lot! πŸ™‚ I have been searching elsewhere for comments, but none have been forthcoming on the contents.

    I know RC Sproul is open to paedobaptism, while Grudem is not a cessasionist and have some pretty non-reformed views on the work of the Holy Spirit. Packer is soft on many doctrines to do (affected) by separatism.

    I cannot say who I agree more… they all seems to be on par with each other πŸ™‚

  4. Hey, Calvin’s commentaries were down to $99 last week… I guess the promo period is over at christianbook.com. 😦 Sad… but the good news is that the new edition from Baker Books (given at your link) includes the Institutes. πŸ™‚ Hmmm… Can I wait till April next year??????? Sigh……

  5. Yeah that was what I was trying to show you (the $99 promo). πŸ™‚

    Dude. With all the stuff you’re buying, by the time you’re done reading maybe even just 1% of all of them, it will already be April!! πŸ˜›

  6. Tim Challies reviewed the ESV Study Bible on Amazon. In his review he compared the ESV Study Bible to the Reformation Study Bible.

    According to Tim: “It seems to me that the Reformation Study Bible came from a much more narrowly-defined theological position; it was Reformed, it was cessationist, it was amillennial. The ESV Study Bible, on the other hand, offers a wider or less-defined perspective.”

Leave a Reply

